DiMarco earns Offensive Player of the Year as six Hornet are named All-MIAA soccer

ESU Athletics
Don Weast, Associate Athletic Director

KANSAS CITY – Emporia State’s Mackenzie Dimarco was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year to highlight six Hornets on the All-MIAA women’s soccer team.  She was joined by Tanna Benefiel on the first-team while Sydney Martens was named third-team with Kailey Corr, Aislinn Hughes and Hannah Woolery earning honorable mention.

Dimarco has rewritten the record book at Emporia State in her freshman season.  She has set eight school records so far this season. She has scored a school record 18 goals and a school record eight game winners with two assists for a school record 38 points on the season. She shattered the school record with 117 shots and 62 shots on goal.  She is leading the MIAA in goals scored, game winning goals, shots, and goals per game, while ranking second in total points. Nationally  she is second in game winning goals, sixth in total goals and ninth in goals per game.

Benefiel was named first-team All-MIAA at midfield after earning third-team honors last season.  She scored two goals with an assist while helping the Hornets hold their opponents to just 177 shots on the season.

Sydney Martens earned third-team All-MIAA honors after being named honorable mention last year. She played a team high 1,647 minutes this season and was an anchor on the defense that posted seven shutouts and held eight opponents to under ten shots.

Kailey Corr started 16 matches and played 1,351 minutes on defense for the Hornets to earn honorable mention All-MIAA honors as a junior.

Aislinn Hughes had three goals and two assists in 18 matches to earn honorable mention All-MIAA at midfield in her sophomore year.

Hannah Woolery scored two goals with a team high five assists in 15 matches from her midfield position to earn honorable mention All-MIAA as a freshman.

Emporia State, now 12-4-2  on the season, opens MIAA Tournament play on Friday afternoon against Northwest Missouri.  Kick-off for the second post-season game on the ESU Pitch is set for 2:00 p.m.

2019 All-MIAA Women’s Soccer Team
All-MIAA First Team

Goalkeeper – Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Jr.
Defender – Allysa Gann – Central Missouri, Sr.
Defender – Skylar Drum – Central Missouri, Jr.
Defender – Kelsey Gordon – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Defender – Emily Seiler – Northeastern State, Sr.
Midfielder – Haley Freeman – Central Missouri, Jr.
Midfielder – Kelsie Eason – Central Oklahoma, Jr.
Midfielder – Tanna Benefiel – Emporia State, Sr.
Forward – Makayla Toth – Central Missouri, Jr.
Forward – Asha Haile – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Forward – Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.
Forward – Mariah Nicolet – Northeastern State, Sr.

All-MIAA Second-Team
Goalkeeper – Allie Prososki – Nebraska Kearney, Sr.
Goalkeeper – RaVella Fisher – Rogers State, Jr.
Defender – Taryn Schnell – Fort Hays State, Sr.
Defender – Molly Willis – Nebraska Kearney, Sr.
Defender – Alex Wynn – Rogers State, Jr.
Midfielder – Nayeli Gallo – Central Missouri, Fr.
Midfielder – Haley Post – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Midfielder – Darby Hirsch – Fort Hays State, Sr.
Midfielder – Sarah Rector – Northeastern State, Sr.
Forward – Kassie Newsom – Central Missouri, So.
Forward – Paulina Chavez – Northeastern State, Jr.
Forward – Cailey Perkins – Fort Hays State, So.

All-MIAA Third-Team
Goalkeeper – Jackie Lari – Newman, So.
Defender – Taryn Kedzior – Central Oklahoma, So.
Defender – Sydney Martens – Emporia State, So.
Defender – Jordan Ashworth – Newman, So.
Defender – Maria Stephens – Newman, Fr.
Midfielder – Kelsey Mueller – Central Missouri, Sr.
Midfielder – Izzy Romano – Northwest Missouri, Sr.
Midfielder – Tera Lynch – Washburn, Jr.
Forward – Macy Ruffalo – Central Missouri, Fr.
Forward – Kennedy Weaver – Newman, Sr.
Forward – Laurelle Theodore – Rogers State, So.
Forward – Josie Rimmer – Washburn, So.

All-MIAA Honorable Mention (ESU only)
Kailey Corr – Defender, Jr.
Aislinn Hughes – Midfielder, So.
Hannah Woolery – Midfielder, Fr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Allysa Gann – Central Missouri, Sr.
Goalkeeper of the Year: Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Jr.
Freshman of the Year: Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, Fr.
Coach of the Year
: Chase Wooten – Northeastern State

Comments are closed.