ESU’s Justin Marcha consensus All-American

ESU Sports
Don Weast, Associate Athletic Director

The final All-America football team from the 2017 season has been announced and just like the other four teams so far, Justin Marcha of Emporia State is on this list making him Emporia State’s first Hornet to earn All-American honors from the five major organizations since Dontaye McCoy in 2002.

Marcha was named a Don Hansen First-Team All-American after leading the nation in punting average with an Emporia State school record 45.0 yards per punt. It was the best average in the MIAA since Brian Moorman averaged 46.0 yards per punt in 1998. He was a main part of Emporia State leading the nation in net punting this season with a net average of 40.89 yards per punt. His career average of 40.1 yards per punt is better than all but two other players single season bests at Emporia State.

Receiver Justin Brown was named honorable mention All-American by Don Hansen. The First-Team All-MIAA pick at wide receiver had 86 receptions for 999 yards with eight touchdowns last season. He was eighth in the nation in receptions and 20th in receiving yards and second in the MIAA in both categories.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. He started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

Marcha is one of four MIAA players that earned First-Team Hansen All-American honors and joins Central Oklahoma’s JT Luper as one of two MIAA players to be named first- or second-team All-American on all five teams.

The Hornets went 6-5 this season, their third straight winning season and fifth year above .500 over the last six seasons.

2017 Don Hansen All-American Team
First Team Offense
QB Luis Perez 6-3 220 SR Texas A&M-Commerce
FB Jordan Johnson 6-1 231 SO West Texas A&M
RB Marc Jones 5-11 225 JR Gannon
RB Cameron Mayberry 5-11 200 SO Colorado Mines
WR Weston Carr 6-2 200 SO Azusa Pacific
WR J.T. Luper 5-9 175 SR Central Oklahoma
WR Austin Ryan 6-0 185 FR Bentley
TE Nick Keizer 6-5 255 SR Grand Valley State
OC Taylor Nikithser 6-4 300 SR California (Pa.)
OG Bryan Redmond 6-2 312 SR Bowie State
OG Nic Sawyer 6-5 305 JR Ferris State
OT Jared Machorro 6-7 280 SR Texas A&M-Commerce
OT Travis Talley 6-3 285 SR Fort Hays State
AP Trenton Cannon 5-11 175 SR Virginia State
PK Cole Tracy 5-11 190 SR Assumption
First Team Defense
DE Marcus Martin 6-2 255 SR Slippery Rock
DE Zach Sieler 6-6 290 JR Ferris State
DT Jake Klinger 6-2 275 JR Bloomsburg
DT Nathan Shepherd 6-5 300 SR Fort Hays State
LB Kirby Hora 6-2 210 JR Augustana (S.D.)
LB Kyle Kitchens 6-2 205 SR Catawba
LB Osband Thompson 6-0 205 SR Tuskegee
LB Collin Schlosser 6-1 230 SR Grand Valley State
S Andrew Benson 6-2 205 SR Assumption
S Chris Johnson 6-3 200 JR North Alabama
CB Tyler Hasty 6-0 190 JR Central Washington
CB Zuril Hendrick 6-0 181 JR Edinboro
P Justin Marcha 6-1 200 SR Emporia State
RS Deonte Harris 5-6 170 JR Assumption
Honorable Mention (Emporia State only)
WR Justin Brown
Offensive Player of the Year:
Luis Perez, QB, Texas A&M-Commerce
Defensive Player of the Year:
Marcus Martin, DE, Slippery Rock
Special Teams Player of the Year:
Deonte Harris, RS, Assumption
Freshman of the Year:
Austin Ryan, WR, Bentley
Coach of the Year:
Pete Shinnick, West Florida & Paul Tortorella, Indiana (Pa.)

Comments are closed.