Tyra Jones named D2CCA All-Central Region

ESU Athletics
Don Weast, Associate Athletic Director

Emporia State’s Tyra Jones was named second-team D2CCA All-Central Region on Thursday prior to the start of the Central Regional Tournament. She is one of four players from the MIAA to earn all-region honors.

Jones is averaging 15.7 points and 7.8 rebounds per game on the season and was a first-team All-MIAA performer. She is ranked sixth in the MIAA in scoring and rebounding, fifth in field goal percentage and tenth in blocked shots. In conference only games she is averaging 16.9 points per game to rank fourth. She was a three-time MIAA Player of the Week and has nine double-doubles on the season.

Sports information directors from NCAA Division II Central Region schools and conferences selected the D2CCA all-region teams. The process concludes with All-American selections announced later in the month. The NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners sponsored the All-Region teams.

The Lady Hornets are seeded seventh in the Central Region and will take on second seed and #7 nationally Southwestern Oklahoma in the first round of the regional tournament at 2:30 p.m. on Friday afternoon in Hays, Kan. It is a rematch of the first game of the season that Emporia State won 68-60 in Shawnee, Okla. The Bulldogs have two first-team all-region selections in Hailey Tucker and Regional Player of the Year Hayden Priddy.

2018-19 D2CCA All-Central Region
Women’s Basketball Team

Pos. Name School Year Conf.
F Cassie Askvig UMary Jr. NSIC
F Tatyana Legette Fort Hays State Sr. MIAA
G ^^ Hayden Priddy Southwestern Okla. Sr. GAC
G ^ Paige Redmond Central Missouri Sr. MIAA
G ^ Hailey Tucker Southwestern Okla. Sr. GAC
Pos. Name School Year Conf.
F ^^ Kallie Bildner Lindenwood Jr. MIAA
F Megan Hintz MSU-Moorhead Jr. NSIC
F Tyra Jones Emporia State Sr. MIAA
F Kellie Lampo Harding So. GAC
G Anna Schmitt Concordia-St. Paul Sr. NSIC
G/F Katie Webb Southeastern Okla. Jr. GAC
^ – 2017-18 All-Central Region First-Team selection
^^ – 2017-18 All-Central Region Second-Team selection

Player of the Year
Hayden Priddy, SWOSU

Comments are closed.