Wichita State accepted into the American Athletic Conference

The Shockers now have a new home.

The 12 members of the American Athletic Conference voted unanimously to accept Wichita State into membership in the league.

Wichita State had been a member of the Missouri Valley Conference since 1945.

The Shocker now join a league in which they are the western-most member, consisting of Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, Navy, SMU, South Florida, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa. It a conference now spread throughout 11 states.

With Navy in the league in football only and Wichita State not fielding a football team, it would seem to be a perfect fit for the AAC to have 12 teams now in many sports.


Comments are closed.